Music and cake at its best!

I’m gonna close my eyes
And count to ten
I’m gonna close my eyes
And when I open them again
Everything will make sense to me then

(Tina Dico – Count to ten)

This weekend I was visiting my parents back in my old home village. It was my dad’s birthday on Saturday and we went to a Tina Dico concert. Never heard of her before? Me neither! Tina is from Denmark and sings melancholic songs about her love,  her life, the city of copenhagen and a lot about bars. Her music is just the right thing to hear on rainy autmun days.

So today I decided to bake something and to stay in the scnadinavian vibe from yesterday evening I decided for Swedish “Apple Walnut Cinnamon Roles with self-made Salt-Caramel Sauce”. Yummi! The air filled with the delicious smell of apples and cinnamon, having Tina Dico’s voice in my ear was just the perfect thing to do on a Sunday. Although I only managed to eat one of my rolls once they were ready (because I was brunching with the girls before and had an enormous food-baby) they were pretty delicious. 🙂

New Image1

In good old foodblog manner ( remeber http://www.tonisandkathiskitchencorner.weebly.com ?) is here the recipe for these perfect rolls:

What you need:

500g all purpose flour – 1 egg – 60g sugar – 100g butter (fluid) – 1 package of dry yeast – a little bit of vanilla powder – a pinch of salt – 250ml milk – three big apples – walnuts (as much as you want) – sugar and cinnamon – 3tsp water – 1tsp sugar beet syrup – 75g sugar – 75ml cream – 2tsp butter – seasalt

How to do it: 

  1. Mix the flour, yeast, sugar, vanilla and salt. Add the egg, the fluid butter and the milk until it is a dough. put it away for around 80 minutes until it doubled its size.
  2. Peel and cut the apples and mix them with as much cinnamon and sugar as you like. Then cut the walnuts in little chunks.
  3. For the salt-caramel sauce you have to heat the sugar, sugar beet syrup and the water slowly until the sugar vanished. Let it stir on medium heat for another 8-10 minutes until it is golden brown. Then add cream, butter and sea salt and stir until smooth. Let it cool down.
  4. When the dough doubled its size, roll it out and sprinkle it with the cinnamon-apples and the walnuts. Roll the dough and cut it into chunks, that look like snails. Then put them in the oven for around 15 minutes (180 degree).

Serve with the caramel sauce and enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

